IUSM Competency Based Curriculum:

IUSM used the six ACGME categories to organize and frame our Institutional Learning Objectives (PDF). These competencies are:

  • Medical Knowledge
  • Patient Care
  • Systems Based Practice
  • Practice Based Learning and Improvement
  • Interpersonal and Communication Skills 
  • Professionalism

The Curriculum Council Steering Committee recently approved transitioning to the new competency organization for our current curriculum starting with the 2014-15 academic year.

What does this mean?

Care was taken to preserve valuable parts of our original competency curriculum. The former nine competencies were aligned with one or more of the new six competencies with a statewide competency director for each (see chart below). However, the previous concept of Level 1, 2 and 3 competency achievement is no longer used. The achievement elements of level 1 and 2 were incorporated into formal promotion and graduation requirements. Students who graduate from IUSM after June 1, 2014 are not required to achieve level 3 in three competencies. With revised elective offerings, course directors will be able incorporate valuable components of the level 3 experiences into the actual elective offering instead of being an optional component of the experience.

Competency Director2014 CompetencyPrior Core Competency
Rakesh Mehta (PC) Patient Care (2) Basic Clinical Skills
Glenda Westmoreland (ICS) Interpersonal Skills and Communication (1)Effective Communication
Margaret Bauer (MK) Medical Knowledge (3) Using Science to Guide Diagnosis, Management, Therapeutics & Prevention
Liam Howley (P) Professionalism (7) Moral Reasoning & Ethical Judgment (9) Professionalism & Role Recognition (5) Self-Awareness, Self-Care & Personal Growth
Joseph Dynlacht (PBLI) Practice Based Learning and Improvement (4) Lifelong, Learning (5) Self-Awareness, Self-Care & Personal Growth (8) Problem Solving
Jean Mensz (SBP) Systems Based Practice (6) Social & Community Contexts of Health Care

Additional changes in the grading scheme have also been approved beginning with the 2014-15 academic year. The previously separate competency transcript will be incorporated into the standard transcript and will show any existing isolated deficiencies in a specific competency for all four years. As Medical Knowledge is paramount to a Foundational Science course in years 1 and 2, an Isolated Deficiency in Medical Knowledge will not be a grade option. For the same reason, an Isolated Deficiency in Patient Care will not be permitted in the Clinical Science courses in years 3 and 4.

This transition brings the school one step closer to realizing the vision of our new curriculum and will allow us to make modifications to our infrastructure in preparation for its implementation in the future.

Links to CCSC approved policies:

Revised Grade Policy

Institutional Learning Objectives